Back to Previous Page
2017 Walker Awards for Excellence in the Arts Nominations
Dates: July 8, 2017 - September 15, 2017
Recurrence: Recurring daily
Address: 122 W Broadway Street, PO Box 1974, Hobbs, NM 88240
Phone: 575-397-2787
Time: 12:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Price: Free

The Lea County Commission for the Arts is now accepting nominations for Stars of the Arts: the 4th Annual Joe and Joyce Walker Awards for Excellence in the Arts. Stars of the Arts, founded by local art patrons, Joe and Joyce Walker honor artists of Lea County who have made significant and outstanding achievements in the arts throughout their lifetime. These individuals include visual artists, musicians, dancers, theatre performers as well as art patrons, educators, or art advocates. Only living artists, residing in Lea County can be nominated. Awardees will be honored at a ceremony in November. $7,000 will be awarded to winners in the categories of music and dance, visual arts, theatre arts and arts advocacy/education. There will also be a special award presented to the overall Outstanding Artist of Lea County. Nominations must be received by 5pm September 15, 2017. Forms and guidelines are available at the Center for the Arts, located on 122 W Broadway Street. The Stars of the Arts banquet reception to honor artists in Lea County will take place at the Hobbs Country Club on Saturday, November 4th from 5-8pm. Doors open at 5pm. The banquet will include various auctions, live performances by local artists and an awards presentation. Dinner and a cash bar will also be provided. Program advertisements and individual tickets will soon be on sale at the Center for the Arts. Tickets for a full table are $400. Reservations will be required.

2017 Walker Awards for Excellence in the Arts Nominations
  • 122 W Broadway Street
  • Hobbs, NM 88240
  • to
  • Lea County Commission for the Arts
  • Free
  • Recurring daily