SANTA FE — New Mexico Magazine hauled in an impressive total of 17 awards and recognitions at the 43rd Annual International Regional Magazine Association (IRMA) Awards Presentation, highlighted by the honor of Runner Up for Magazine of the Year.

In addition to Magazine of the Year Runner Up, New Mexico Magazine claimed four gold (1st place), seven silver (2nd place) and five bronze (3rd place) awards in 2023. The awards earned by New Mexico Magazine cover everything from editorial and photography to design and marketing.

“The staff at New Mexico Magazine includes some of the most talented storytellers and creatives one could ever meet,” said Tourism Secretary Jen Paul Schroer. “I have a great deal of gratitude for this team and their ability to find new and interesting stories to tell about the Land of Enchantment.”

“Even after 100 years, New Mexico Magazine continues to set new standards for itself and other magazines for what it means to be a leisure travel publication,” said New Mexico Magazine CEO Ed Graves. “I’m grateful that this team continues to be recognized by industry experts as setting a high standard for storytelling, photography and production.”

In 2022, New Mexico Magazine claimed 16 total awards at the IRMA Awards Presentation. New Mexico Magazine also doubled the number of gold awards it earned in 2023 compared to 2022.

The full list of IRMA awards for New Mexico Magazine:

Magazine of the Year – Runner Up


Newsletter – Ofelia Martinez & Steve Gleydura

General Features – Railyard Renaissance by Kate Nelson

Food Feature – Burger Kings by Molly Boyle, Douglas Merriam, Danilo Agutoli & John McCauley

Portrait Series – Breaking the Mold by Kate Russell


Public Issues – New Deal Reckoning by Kate Nelson

Historic Features – Standing of Faith by Kate Nelson

Profile – Back to the Indigenous Future by Molly Boyle

Art Director of a Single Story – Burger Kings, John McCauley

Overall Art Direction – John McCauley

Department, Destinations – Molly Boyle, Kate Nelson, Jen Judge & Tira Howard

Photographer of the Year – Steve St. John


Nature and Environment – The Memory of Seeds by Elizabeth Miller

Art and Culture Feature – Spirits of the Past by Kate Nelson

Travel Feature – Zuni Standard Time by Molly Boyle

Essay – A Cuentista’s Magic by Levi Romero

Portrait Photo – The Auntie Way, Ungelbah Dávila-Shivers

To evaluate the achievements of member magazines, IRMA annually selects a panel of industry experts from outside IRMA who choose winners from the pool of submitted entries. The various award categories include editorial, design, and photography. Review more information about the 2023 IRMA award winners on their website.