SANTA FE – The New Mexico Tourism Department (NMTD) is awarding nearly $4 million to a record 41 local governments and tourism-related organizations across New Mexico through the department’s Cooperative Marketing Grant Program for Fiscal Year 2023.

In total, NMTD is awarding $3,866,693 to grant recipients through a 2:1 match. The joint investment in tourism advertising between NMTD and all grant recipients will be a record $5.8 million.

“It is essential we retain a strong investment in tourism promotion as destinations and tourism organizations continue to restore their own tourism advertising,” Cabinet Secretary Jen Paul Schroer said. “A record investment in this program ensures that participating communities are empowered to pursue their tourism marketing goals and that New Mexico’s presence remains strong in a highly competitive destination promotion landscape.”

Several communities impacted by wildfires received substantial support through this program. The FY23 grant cycle includes $205,252 for the City of Las Vegas, $553,062 for the Village of Ruidoso, $45,294 for Los Alamos County and $246,231 split between Santa Fe County and TOURISM Santa Fe.

The FY23 grant cycle also welcomes four first-time community partners to the program: Amigos de Cerrillos Hills State Park, Bernalillo County, New Mexico Department of Transportation – Aviation Division and West Central Community Development Group.

In FY22, NMTD awarded $3.2 million in grant funding for a total media value of $5 million. Grant funding in FY22 helped support campaigns such as a digital billboard campaign in Albuquerque for Discover Navajo, a virtual tour promotion campaign for the Town of Mesilla and video content production and distribution for the City of Tucumcari to name a few.

Recipients of the Cooperative Marketing Grant Program for FY23:

  • Amigos de Cerrillos Hills State Park
  • Bernalillo County
  • Carlsbad Chamber of Commerce
  • Chama Valley Chamber of Commerce
  • City of Alamogordo
  • City of Deming
  • City of Elephant Butte
  • City of Española
  • City of Gallup
  • City of Las Vegas
  • City of Roswell
  • City of Truth or Consequences
  • City of Tucumcari
  • Cloudcroft Chamber of Commerce
  • Clovis/Curry County Chamber of Commerce
  • Farmington Convention and Visitors Bureau
  • Grant County
  • Indian Pueblo Cultural Center
  • Los Alamos County
  • National Institute of Flamenco
  • Navajo Nation
  • New Mexico Bed and Breakfast Association
  • New Mexico Department of Transportation – Aviation Division
  • Pecos Business Association
  • Sandoval County Tourism Alliance
  • Santa Fe Children’s Museum
  • Santa Fe County
  • Ski New Mexico
  • Taos Ski Valley Chamber of Commerce
  • TOURISM Santa Fe
  • Town of Mesilla
  • Town of Red River
  • Town of Silver City
  • Town of Taos
  • Village of Los Lunas
  • Village of Questa
  • Village of Ruidoso
  • Visit Albuquerque
  • Visit Las Cruces
  • West Central Community Development Group

To view the complete list of Cooperative Marketing Grant Program recipients, click here. More information about the program is available at